RESOLUTION STEUBEN COUNTY LEGISLATURE BATH, NEW YORK

PERM. NO. :			INTRO. NO. : INTRO. DATE:	
INTRO. BY :	B. Schu	SECONDED BY:		
VOTE: ROLL CALL ADOPTED ACCLAMATION	YES NO ABSENT ABSTN'D	AMENDED TABLED POSTPONED REF'D/COM	LOST W/DRWN	
COMMITTEES: PS&C Y:	N:	Y: N:	Y:	N:

TITLE: DENYING THE STATE OF NEW YORK PERMISSION TO USE THE SEAL OF STEUBEN COUNTY, THE STEUBEN COUNTY SHERIFF AND THE STEUBEN COUNTY CLERK, FOR ANY PURPOSE ASSOCIATED WITH THE NEW YORK

STATE S.A.F.E. ACT.

WHEREAS, the State of New York passed a gun control law referred to as the S.A.F.E. Act without substantive debate or input from local governments; and

WHEREAS, this act clearly indicates that the enforcement of this law is the responsibility of New York State; and

WHEREAS, in recent discussions, the State has indicated an interest in using the Seal of Steuben County and the seal and names of the offices of the Steuben County Sheriff and the Steuben County Clerk in pistol permit recertification notices; and

WHEREAS, the Steuben County Sheriff and the Steuben County Clerk have voiced their strong objection to this request and suggestion.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT

RESOLVED, that the Steuben County Legislature hereby denies the State of New York permission to use the name, seal, letterhead or address of the County of Steuben, the Steuben County Sheriff and the Steuben County Clerk for the purposes of correspondence with legal and registered gun owners regarding permit recertification or for any other purpose associated with the S.A.F.E. Act; and be it further

RESOLVED, certified copies of this resolution shall be forwarded to the Honorable Andrew M. Cuomo, New York State Governor, New York State Capitol Building, Albany, NY 12224; Honorable Dean Skelos, NYS Senate Republican Conference Leader And Majority Coalition Leader, 909 Legislative Office Building, Albany, NY 12247; Honorable Jeffrey Klein, NYS Senate Independent Conference Leader And Majority Coalition Leader, 913 Legislative Office Building, Albany, NY 12247; Honorable Andrea Stewart-Cousins, Minority Leader, New York State Senate, 907 Legislative Office Building, Albany, NY 12247; Honorable Sheldon Silver, Speaker, New York State Assembly, 932 Legislative Office Building, Albany, NY 12248; Honorable Joseph D. Morelle, Majority Leader, New York State Assembly, 926 Legislative Office Building, Albany, NY 12248; Honorable Brian M. Kolb, Minority Leader, New York State Assembly, 933 Legislative Office Building, Albany, NY 12248; Honorable Thomas M. O'Mara, New York State Senator, 415 Legislative Office Building, Albany, NY 12247; Honorable Philip A. Palmesano, New York State Assemblyman, 723 Legislative Office Building, Albany, NY 12248; Honorable Joseph M. Giglio, New York State Assemblyman, 439 Legislative Office Building, Albany, NY 12248; Honorable Bill Nojay, New York State Assemblyman, 527 Legislative Office Building, Albany, NY 12248; Stephen J. Acquario, Executive Director, New York State Association of Counties, 540 Broadway, Albany, NY 12207; Honorable Jerry Davis, President, Inter-County Association of Western New

York, c/o Wyoming County Board of Supervisors, Government Center, 143 North Main Street, Warsaw, NY 14569; and Joseph D'Amico, Superintendent, New York State Police, 1220 Washington Avenue, Building 22, Albany, NY 12226-2252.