Columbia County committee calls for repeal of NY SAFE Act

The County Government Committee of the Columbia County Board of Supervisors passed a resolution on Tuesday calling for the repeal of the NY Safe Act passed by the State Legislature last month.

The committee voted 6-2 in favor, with supervisors Jesse DeGroodt, NOP-Chatham, Thomas Garrick, R-Gallatin, Ron Knott, R-Stuyvesant, Kevin McDonald, R-Livingston, Matt Murell, R-Stockport and Raymond Staats, D-Clermont voting in support. Voting against the measure were supervisors Edward Cross, D-Hudson2 and Ellen Thurston, D-Hudson3.

The resolution, which would still need to be passed by the full Board of Supervisors, states that the NY SAFE Act will curtail the Second Amendment right of citizens to bear arms, and takes issue with the legislation for having been “approved with scant public notice, very little public debate or review by state lawmakers.”

Read more…

3 responses to “Columbia County committee calls for repeal of NY SAFE Act

Leave a Reply