Tag Archives: TownOfHolland

Town of Holland resolution opposing the SAFE Act

Town of Holland resolution opposing the SAFE Act passed unanimously.

Town of Holland, NY Resolution to Suspend NY SAFE Act

WHEREAS  The Town of Holland is a rural community with a large percentage of hunters, sportsmen, and supporters of the second amendment, and

WHEREAS  On Monday, January 14, 2013 the rights under the second Amendment of our Constitution was infringed on without due process, and

WHEREAS  The Gun Control Bill (S.2230) known as NY SAFE Act was rushed through the Senate and Assembly without a single public hearing or any input from various law enforcement agencies located around the state, and

WHEREAS  State lawmakers did not have time to review the bill as presented, leaving many questions about implementation and regulation of this new law, and

WHEREAS  This law should focus on increasing penalties for criminals who use firearms to threaten or harm law abiding citizens, and should address the issue of mental illness as it relates to violence, and

WHEREAS  The Town of Holland realizes that the NY SAFE Act gun control law must be repealed and that the restrictive parts of the enacted law be replaced, and

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Town of Holland urgently requests Governor Andrew Cuomo and the legislative leaders to immediately suspend this law and to have an open and informed discussion on gun control that will address the real issues that would strengthen public safety, but not infringe upon the constitutional rights of responsible, law abiding New York State residents.

RESOLVED, that a certified copy of this resolution be forwarded to: Honorable Governor Andrew M. Cuomo, Honorable Senate Majority Leader Dean Skelos, Honorable Majority Leader of Independent Democratic Caucus Jeff Klein, Honorable Senate Minority Leader Andrea Stewart-Cousins, Honorable Speaker of the Assembly Sheldon Silver, Honorable Leader of the Assembly Joseph Morelle, Honorable Minority Leader of the Assembly Brian Kolb, and the Western New York Delegation and Erie County Legislators.