Chautauqua County resolution denying permission to use county seal for SAFE act purposes

RES. NO. 20-14

Denying the State of New York Permission to Use the Name and Seal of the County of Chautauqua and County Officers for Purposes Related to the SAFE Act

By Public Safety Committee:
At the Request of County Legislators Runkle, Borrello, Scudder, Gould, Tarbrake, Vanstrom, Lemon, Wilfong, Wendel, and Niebel:

WHEREAS, the State of New York has passed a gun control law referred to as the SAFE Act; and

WHEREAS, the SAFE Act clearly indicates that the enforcement of this law is the responsibility of New York State; and

WHEREAS, the State has indicated an interest in using the Seal of the County of Chautauqua and the names of the offices of the Chautauqua County Sheriff and the Chautauqua County Clerk in pistol permit recertification notices; and

WHEREAS, the Chautauqua County Sheriff and Chautauqua County Clerk have voiced their strong objection to the State’s use of the County Seal or reference to their offices; therefore be it

RESOLVED, That the Chautauqua County Legislature denies the State of New York permission to use the name, seal, letterhead, or address of the County or of any County officer regarding permit recertification or for any other purpose associated with the SAFE Act, and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution should be transmitted to the office of the Governor of New York State, the Superintendent of State Police, New York State Senator Catharine Young, New York State Assemblyman Andrew Goodell, the New York State Association of Counties, and the legislative body of every county in the State of New York.

Signed: Wendel, Niebel, Keefe, Ahlstrom, Tarbrake

Leave a Reply